Forest Hills Memorial Day Parade

 DSC_4588-62a

This morning I photographed the Memorial Day parade in my old neighborhood, Forest Hills. I got there early enough that it hadn’t actually started yet, so I was able to find some interesting shots while people were milling around.  

The kids were already excited about the souvenir flags even before the action began. DSC_4373-21

 

A group of marines patiently waited at the head of the parade line, and I found them a fascinating subject.

DSC_4360

 DSC_4499-44a

 

As always, plenty of bagpipes played in the parade.

DSC_4686-74

This horse knows to smile for the camera.

DSC_4791-96

Even the most cutely patriotic spectators weren’t necessarily prepared for the heat.

DSC_4800

Most of the kids seemed to enjoy the parade, though. I loved this kid, snapping away with his 35mm film camera.

DSC_4578

3 thoughts on “Forest Hills Memorial Day Parade

  1. I was at the parade and Mayor Bloomberg held my daughter (she was wearing pink), as well as a woman running for something… (Katz possibly). I was wondering if you had any pictures relating to this, as my boyfriend did not get the camera out fast enough.

    Thank you
    Lisa

    • Hi Lisa, unfortunately I didn’t get a photo of your daughter. Thanks for checking in, though. 🙂

Leave a comment