Taking a leap into 2011!

Did you have a good holiday season? I had almost two weeks off of work, and it was fantastic! This was our first Christmas as a married couple, as well as our first live tree. I’ve had a little fake tree for a few years that I was fine with, until I saw how full and gorgeous a real tree looked, and more importantly, smelled. I’m from the Pacific Northwest and I cannot tell you how much I love the smell of pine! We got our tree at a sidewalk tree ‘lot’ right across the street, and every time I walked through there, I happily inhaled as deeply as I could. I was pleasantly surprised that the pine scent never went away from our own tree, even though we had it for a good three weeks! Today we finished taking it down so we could bring it to Mulchfest at a neighborhood park. A woodchipper was set up for a few hours, which gobbled up the trees and made mulch that will feed new plants and trees around the city’s parks. (I can’t decide if that’s the tree living on in spirit, or tree cannibalism! Ha!)

We toasted a happy new year with a bunch of friends! I hope you rang in 2011 with family and/or friends and set the tone right for the coming months.

Some of you may know that one of my favorite photo genres is jumping. (If we’re doing a portrait, engagement or wedding session, it’s likely that I will ask you to jump!) So today, as the sun was beginning to set from a lovely blue sky, I set out to capture my first jump of the new year–a leap over the sun! One of the many goals I made for this year, in addition to expanding my photography, was to do 31 jumping photos this year, ideally before I turn 32 in November. In 2010, I did 31 jumping days, so this shouldn’t be a tough goal at all!

One thought on “Taking a leap into 2011!

Leave a Reply

